London report - Thursday

YES!!!! I have just discovered that i can use my own computor to link up through the hotel network. If I had discovered that yesterday it would have saved me a £.
Wanted to learn more about Mayfair yesterday and decided to use London Walks. They had a guided walk through Mayfair in the morning. It was led by a very knowlegeble man called Peter. If I only could remember half of what he told us. He was good and funny.
On the way to the meeting place I passed the Ritz. Resisted an urge to go in and ask for Miss Pocahontas. But from what I have heard she is styill married to that travel books shopkeeper. (If you have not seen Notting Hill you will not understand that.)
For once Temple Church was open to visitors when I got there. Even if you have not read the DaVinci-code it is well worth a visit. A marvellous building from the Middle Ages. But nowadays they charge to get in, except of people above the age of 65 that is. I do not know wether to treat it as an insult or not, but they asked if I was a senior citizen or not? If I had lied I would have saved £3-
Thursdays are Curry Nights at Wetherspoon. Good and cheap. A Chicken Karma, not very hot, a pint of bitter and a dessert for just £8.58. Who said London is expensive? Well, it can be, depending on where you go.
I fell in love last night. Islington Folk Club at The Horseshoe in Clerkenwell is hard to find. I once had to guide a taxi driver the last bit. But it is well worth a visit. The Angel Band, with assorted squeeze boxes, is a powerful band that always start the evening, the MC Bernard is absolutely hilarious and many of the floor singers are of a very high standard.
But the headliners yesterday Lady Maisery was really something else. Every once in a while you see a group that just pushes you off your feet. This was one such moment. Three young women singing harmonies and for some songs using instruments like harp, fiddle, accordion and a banjo that sounded like a sitar, with a well chosen repertoire, that include diddling instrumental tunes from different countries. Just fabulous. And when Hannah James put on her iron-soled clogs for the encore and smattered away on a wooden floor ity was the perfect finish to a perfect performance.
Do not miss them if they ever come to a venue near you.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0