London Report - Saturday 1

I have been here nearly 100 times and I wonder why I have never taken the time to visit the Wallace Coillection in Manchester Square. It is a fabulous collection. Armoury and weapons, fine china, superb furniture and of course art. Some lovely 18th century French art, and of course some Rubens and even some Rembrandt.
I walked around on my own for an hour and then joined a guided tour. The guide was a young man by the name of Guiseppe, but with a clear Scottish accent. Interesting combination to say the least. He seemed very into French kings named Louis. As expected he picked out some highlights and went into depth about them. But is he a pacifist? He did not even mention the weapons collections. Not that I missed it.

Peter of London Walks is one of the best guides I have heard. He guided the Mayfair tour two days ago and today he was there again, this time for a tour of old Marylebone. He has got a story about everything, and one of his favourite subjects seems to be Prince Regent (George IV), a man I am quite interested in myself, and has written a little about.
It came as no surprise when Peter today told us he came to London in 1974 to train as an actor. Nowadays he does 2-3 guided tours a day.

I know lasagne is not an English dish, but when you are eating in an English pub it is as safe to order as fish & chips. It is always good. I had one today, with a mixed salad instead of the garlic bread, and a pint of a lovely ale called Fiery Liz. Has never tasted it before but loved it.
By the way. There used to be four pubs in Victoria station, but only two are left. Both Mash Tun (a little hole in the wall on the ground floor) and the one in Victoria Place is gone. I do not miss them that much, since the two I frequent are still there. But it a distressing sign of the times when record shopas and pubs close.

The folk club night I am going to tonight will be in a report tomorrow morning.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0