London diary pt II

At last, the sun is shining, but still it is rather chilly.

Yesterday we went to Harrods. We were there at 9.35 am, but it does not open until 10.00 am, so we got soaking wet before entering the store.
Harrods have their annual sale on, but in spite of a 50 % reduction I still think £699 is to much for a handbag for my wife. The ones at Primark at £6 each suit my wallet better. But Elexir strings are cheaper at Harrods than in Denmark Street, and they now sell Crafter guitars in the music department. But there is no Jelly to be found in the food halls, and the only tea they sell is their own brand.
One thing that struck me is that there is a luxury department on the ground floor. Is that really necessary? To me the whole of Harrods is one big luxury department.

The say "It ain't over until the fat lady sings". After yesterday's football we change that to "It ain't over until the man in black blows his whistle." With 0-0 and close to full time people started leaving The Den (home ground for Millwall FC). Then during overtime Southampton scored 1-0 on a free kick. The Millwall fans behind us quickly left. A minute later Millwall had their equalizer. 1-1. An extraordinary match.
You don't have to like football to watch it live. You can just watch the audience. The Southampton fans were singing throughout the match. The Millwall supporter were mostly roaring and complaining about the referee. Millwall has the most misbehaving supporters I have ever come across.

Cellar Upstairs Folk Club was good yesterday. The focus was on unaccompanied singing, with some fiddlers there as well. The guest duo (sorry do not remember the names, but I have a CD in my suitcase) sang songs from Devon and Cornwall. Very good too, with nice harmonies. And I made my a capella. With n o guitars in sight, and the dorrman putting me on the singers list without asking me, I had no choice. But I think it went OK.

This morning we have been up to Abbey Road and walked that famous zebra crossing. And my favourite stall in Covent Garden had a new range of dolls.

Soon time for a Sunday Roast and a pint of bitter. But have to get hungry enough to manage a dessert.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0