Lazy Sunday ...

... was a big hit for the Small Faces in the 1960s. I tried to have one but failed miserably. My step counter ended up at 28275 steps, in spite off being off inside the hotel. Well, better luck some other time.

If you feel bad about not doing enough exervise, please avoid Victoria Park (East End, closest tube station is Mile End) on a Sunday morning. The park was full of joggers, bikers, prampushers, dogwalkers, footballers, and so on. The only once sitting still were the anglers. Otherwise it is a beautiful park, especially round the lake in the western part, well worth the journey. And Regent's Canal passes by as well.

In Covent Garden I got a shock. I collect "Hobos", lovely tramplike figures on sale on Sundays in one of the stalls in the Jubilee Market. I have decided to buy one each time I am in London. Yesterday the man who makes them told me the stock is nearly finished and he is not going to make them anymore. Had I known I would have brought a bigger suitcase and bought more than the one I got.

Oh joy. I got oto ride n one of the very few Routemasters left, you know the bus where you can board at the back in between bus stops. Only three stops, but it was a taste of old London.

Sometimes you are quite content even if you do not find what you are looking for. I was searching for a CD by Pink Martinis and Jex Lowe's own version of "Durham Jail". I found neither, but since I found a DVD with Martin Simpson discussing his guitar technique instead I am not complaining.

Ended the day by going to Royal Festival Hall to hear the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra play Beethoven's third symphony. What a performance. It is a demanding piece, about 40 minutes long, with anything from the softest soft passages to the orchestra blowing up a storm. They did it all perfectly.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0