Dr Johnson was right - Last London entry

"If a man is tired he is tired off life, because London holds everything life can afford."
These words were uttered by Dr Samuel Johnson about 250 years ago, and still they ring true.

I have been to London about 80 times and my ambition is to do something new each time I get here. I can be something small, like going to a pub I have never visitd before, but it has to be something new. And this trip has been full of new experiences, from singing for the first at Islington Folk Club last Thursday right up to this morning.

Being a sunny day, with temperatures above +10 I resisted the temptation of the Darwin Exhibition at the Natural History Museum and opted for outdoor visits, and found two real gems I have never visited before.

I started out finding the Paddington basin. Just behind Paddington station there is a part of the Grand Union Canal, full off narrowboats and encircled by modern skyscrapers. I followed the canal and came to Little Venice, where it joins with Regent's Canal.
What a wonderful place. A small lkae, with canals stretching out in three directions, birds, boats and outdoor cafes. Do not miss it.

Then I took the tube to Holland Park and walked through it from north to south. Why have I never visited before?
The north part is like a small wild forest in the middle of London. Then you come to the beautiful and peaceful Kyoto Garden, in true Japanese garden style. Therafter the Orangery with the plantations, and then the sports field, full of school children. What a walk.

So in spite of the weather been less that favourable for photography I leave with more than 300 snaps to add my collection.
And if we win the rollover of the Swedish national lottery next time I am here and someone asks me "How long are you staying in London?" I will quote Julia Roberts's last line in Notting Hill: "Indefinately"

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0