Acts of Kindess and Full Pints

In this modern world of greed we must appreciate the small tokens of kindness we see around us. Like yesterday when the driver of the no 11 bus I was trying to catch, limping with a bad right knee, stopped a moment extra, opened the door, let me in and saved me waiting for 10 minutes for the next one. Or the woman in the queue at Sainbury's in Islington who let me go before her since I only had an orange and a small bag of apples.
Thank you very much, both of you.
And then compare these people with the headlines of yesterday's Metro London that said that nurses are getting a payrise of 1,9 % whilst their bosses are getting 7,9.

But sometimes you wonder. With the changed meaning of certain words, how clever is it to have your pub named "The Cock"? But it was a good old-fashioned pub once you got inside, and the served Samuel Smoth-beer, just like The Chandos and Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese, two of my favourite London pubs.

There were no signs of the recession at Primark, Marble Arch. The store was absolutely crowded, and the queues were the longest I have ever seen, even taking into account Madame Tussaud's on a Sunday. I was going to buy socks (half a dozen for just £1.96) but stopped. The low price was not worth about an hour of queueing.

Wetherspoons at Victoria station no longer serves fish & chips, a great tragedy to us all. They have a slightly reduced menu compared to other Wetherspoons pubs. But they still do their lovely salmon fillet. I love getting the sauce in seperate jug, so you can pour it on yourself. Makes you feel empowered. And the had draught Ruddles, which made me feel nostalgic. For me Ruddles is very much a beer of the 1980s. But it is still a good beer.
And the Bramley apple, pear and raspberry pie I have for dessert is just marvellous. But avoid the hot custard and go for the icecream instead.

Notts Alliance were the guests at Cellar Upstairs folk club. The name sounds like a building society or an insurance company, but they are a three piece a capella all male singing group, with a rich variety of songs. They did two of Richard Thompson's, "Wall of Death" and "Al Bowlly's in Heaven", a moving "Banks of the Bann" and Jez Lowe's "Durham Jail" and lots more. I bought one of their CDs on the way out.
By the way if you want to listen to them you can reach them throught Still No Bagpipes's MySpace site (www.myspace.com/stillnobagpipes) We are MySpace-friends.

At last. I love the barmaid in Exmouth Arms (where the folk club is). No, let me re-phrase that to avoid misunderstandings and suspicious questions from my wife. I love the way the barmaid fills the pints. She always tops them up properly. No inches of foam on the top, beer all the way up to the rim of the glass. Often she serves two or three customers at a time to let the beer settle, and to see if she can fill the glasses even more.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0